ILP No Longer Required by Indian Tourists to Visit Ladakh Protected Areas

Published 1 year ago

In an attempt to promote the tourism industry, the Ladakh government has determined to end the Inner Line Permit (ILP) system for Indians and local inhabitants wishing to explore protected areas of Ladakh. The declaration was made by Mehboob Ali, secretary for tourism and culture in Ladakh during a three-day event set up by the Union Tourism ministry in Ladakh.

What's an Inner Line Permit?

Inner Line Permit is a document travellers require to get from the government to visit famous travel spots like the Khardung La, Pangong Tso, Nubra Valley, Tso Moriri and Hanu Villages, to give some examples.

However the Ladakh administration has discarded IPL prerequisites for Indians, foreign travellers will in any case have to get the document to visit the ensured regions. Be that as it may, presently the validity of their ILP is stretched out to 15 days from the seven days.

Ali said, "With the opening up of domestic tourism in Ladakh, we learned there is not really any requirement for an ILP in light of the fact that it was making many logistical issues for travellers. That is the reason, subsequent to talking with all stakeholders and acknowledging it has lost its relevance, we got rid of ILP."

He further said that there have been limitations on visiting line districts, yet step by step, these too will be lifted besides in regions managing line issues. However, every traveler will in any case need to pay an environment fee online or in cash.

Talking at the occasion, Union Tourism and Culture Minister G Kishen Reddy said that his service will spend 50,000 crores for Ladakh's infrastructure. In the meantime, Lieutenant Governor RK Mathur discussed the need to promote winter, science-based, and pastoral tourism in Ladakh. He said, "The existence of heritage sites per square kilometer in this region is higher than elsewhere in the nation".

Likewise, a war memorial at Rezang La is set to be inaugurated on November 18 by Defense Minister Rajnath Singh.